Former migrant farm worker now a leading U.S. neurosurgeon

Nova Science NOW reports on the inspiring story of Dr. Alfredo Quiñones-Hinojosa. When he was 19, he jumped the border fence between the United States and Mexico to become a farm worker. Now, he is one of the leading brain surgeons in the United States.

The very first line in my CV is migrant farmworker. I put that on purpose. I’m proud of it. For many years, I relayed a story about when I was told that it couldn’t be possible that I was that smart and I was Mexican. It really hurt me. For many, many years, I was embarrassed, to be honest with you, and I had to deal with that. And now I am proud of it.

Nova Science NOW features former migrant farm worker Dr. Alfredo Quiñones-Hinojosa.

Nova Science NOW features former migrant farm worker Dr. Alfredo Quiñones-Hinojosa.



Dr. Quiñones has earned an undergraduate degree from the University of California, Berkeley, and a medical degree from Harvard, graduating with honors and becoming a U.S. citizen shortly thereafter. During his residency in neurosurgery at the University of California, San Francisco, he also completed a postdoctoral fellowship in developmental and stem cell biology.

He is currently Associate Professor of Neurosurgery and Oncology at Johns Hopkins Medical School, where he serves as the Director of the brain tumor program at the The Johns Hopkins Bayview campus. Dr. Q, as his students affectionately call him, performs more than 250 brain surgeries each year and conducts research on brain cancer.

